How to Use our Subuser System

In this article, we will explain how to use our subuser system, to have your friends or people gain access to certain parts of the server. Never give out your user login details, as it gives them full permissions to do anything with the server as they please. Instead, use the subuser and add them that way.
The subuser will receive 2 emails, one is called "Account Created" and the other is "Added To Server".
He will have to open the "Account Created" and setup his account first, then open the "Added To Server" one.
If the subuser already have an account he will not receive the "Account Created" email, instead he will have to use the password he already has to access the panel.
The subuser can reset the password here in case he forgot it at https://witherpanel.com/account.

Creating a subuser
Go to the server you want to add a subuser for, and go to the "Users" section present at the left-hand side.



Now, we will create a user. So click on the "New User" button, and a window should appear on the website.



We will break-down everything in this window for you.
Make sure you put in the user's email address at the top field.

EggChanger:

This lets the user edit the server game type/server version. Only grant this if you want your subuser to change the server software, for example, from PaperMC to PocketMineMP.



Versions:

Let's the user change the server version. Only grant this if you want your subuser to change the server version from, for example, 1.17 to 1.8



###Subdomain:

Let's the user change server subdomain. Only grant this if you want your subuser to change your server subdomain, for example, from mini.wither.host to game.wither.host



Control:

Console - Let's the user send commands to the server console. Note that if you add someone as a subuser with any control permissions, they will be able to view console. Only if you give them the console permission, can they send commands in it.
Start - Let's the user issue the start command at the server. If the server is already online, it will not do anything.
Stop - Let's the user issue the stop command at the server. If the server is already offline, it will not do anything.
Restart - Let's the user issue the restart command at the server. This can allow the subuser to restart the server if it's in a crashed state, but not completely stop the server on their own



User:

Create - Let's the user create subusers themselves. They cannot assign permissions they do not have themselves.
Read - Let's the user view other subusers on the server
Update - Let's the user modify other subusers. They will never be able to edit their own account, or assign permissions they do not have themselves.
Delete - Let's the user delete other subusers.



File:

Create - Allows a user to create additional files and folders via the Panel or direct upload.
Read - Allows a user to view the contents of a directory, but not view the contents of or download files. If you only grant the "Create" permission, they need the "Read" permission to create files.
Read-Content - Allows a user to view the contents of a given file. This will also allow the user to download files. Grant this permission when you want your subuser to view configuration files or any other contents of a file.
Update - Allows a user to update the contents of an existing file or directory.
Delete - Allows a user to delete files or directories. Make sure that this permission is granted to trusted users, otherwise an untrustworthy subuser could be able to delete all your server files!
Archive - Allows a user to archive the contents of a directory as well as decompress existing archives on the system.
SFTP - Allows a user to connect to SFTP and manage server files using the other assigned file permissions. Please note that if you grant this permission, they will have permission to create, read, read-content, update, delete and archive files as well.



Backup:

Create - Allows a user to create new backups for the server.
Read - Allows a user to view all backups that exist for this server.
Delete - Allows a user to remove backups from the system.
Download - Allows a user to download a backup for the server. Danger - this allows a user to access all files for the server in the backup, which would be the same as read-content, read, and update permissions in the file section
Restore - Allows a user to restore a backup for the server. Danger: this allows the user to delete all of the server files in the process. Make sure that this permission is granted to trusted users, otherwise an untrustworthy subuser could restore your save point back to a long time ago, hampering your progress.



Allocation:

Read - Allows a user to view all allocations currently assigned to this server. Users with any level of access to this server can always view the primary allocation, which is your game port.
Create - Allows a user to assign additional allocations to the server. Note that a random port is created and assigned to your server.
Update - Allows a user to change the primary server allocation and attach notes to each allocation.
Delete - Allows a user to delete an allocation from the server. Note that they cannot delete the primary allocation.



Startup:

View - Allows a user to view the startup variables for a server.
Update - Allows a user to modify the startup variables for the server. Please note that we do not support editing the startup command on the panel, you will need to open a ticket to do so.
Docker-Image - Allows a user to modify the Docker image used when running the server. This means they can change Java versions or the version of software to run your server on.



Database:

Create - Allows a user to create a new database for this server. Note that the database won't be in use until you specify database details in your config file of your plugins that need one.
Read - Allows a user to view the database associated with this server.
Update - Allows a user to rotate the password on a database instance. If the user does not have the view_password permission they will not see the updated password.
Delete - Allows a user to remove a database instance from this server.
View_Password - Allows a user to view the password associated with a database instance for this server. Please note that if they have this permission, they will be able to login to phpMyAdmin to manage the database themselves.



Schedules:

Create - Allows a user to create new schedules for this server.
View - Allows a user to view schedules and the tasks associated with them for this server.
Update - Allows a user to update schedules and schedule tasks for this server.
Delete - Allows a user to delete schedules for this server.



Settings:

Rename - Allows a user to rename this server. Note that this does not change the MOTD or any other asepct of your server, it just changes the name associated with it on the panel.
Reinstall - Allows a user to trigger a reinstall of this server. Note that if someone has changed server software or versions, this reinstall will change it according to the values chosen. If the user attempts to reinstall the server with no changes, no changes will happen after the reinstall either.



Once you have finished assigning the permissions you want for this user, simply click on the "Invite User" button present at the bottom of the window.

What does the subuser have to do?

Your user should get an email with login information to access your server according to the permissions you set! Let's check our email.



We will first go to the Account Created email, and we will choose to setup our account, so we can set a password





Once you've set the password, your subuser account should be ready to go and your subuser can access the server according to the permissions you set.

That's the guide on How to use our subuser system ! If you have any questions regarding the article, feel free to use the comments section below, and we'll answer them as soon as we can! You can also join the discussion at our discord to get help from other members and staff! Thank you for reading this article!
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!