Articles on: Minecraft
This article is also available in:

How to change your Level Type

In this guide, we'll learn how to change your level type between the different level types you can switch to! We will also explain what each level type means. Let's get started!

⚙️ Finding the level-type setting ⚙️

First, make sure you're on our panel, . Then, go to the server you want to manage. Once you're there, head over to the File Manager, and then open the file

Make sure your server's stopped while this is happening!

In this file, you'll find a setting called level-type. We can change it to any type that we want! In case it's not in the file, you can just add it as a new line!

🤔 Different Level Types 🤔

default - Standard world with hills, valleys, water, etc.
flat - A flat world with no features, can be modified with generator-settings.
largeBiomes - Same as default but all biomes are larger.
amplified - Same as default but world-generation height limit is increased.
buffet - Only for 1.15 or before. Same as default unless generator-settings is set.
default_1_1 - Only for 1.15 or before. Same as default, but counted as a different world type.
customized - Only for 1.15 or before. After 1.13, this value is no different than default, but in 1.12 and before, it could be used to create a completely custom world.

Once you set the level-type, hit on save. Then, delete the worlds folders that are present in your file manager. It would be world, world_nether, world_the_end for java edition, and for bedrock edition, it would be worlds. Then, start your server and you should generate a world with the level-type you've specified!

Updated on: 08/03/2023

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback


Thank you!